This is the "The Crucible" page of the "The Crucible" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Crucible  

Reference sources in support of Form II English.
Last Updated: Feb 23, 2017 URL: http://libguides.pingry.org/content.php?pid=707316 Print Guide RSS Updates
The Crucible Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Salem Witch Trials


Click on the picture to read more.....

 

McCarthyism

http://academic.eb.com/levels/collegiate/search/articles?query=Red+scare

 

Need Passwords?

If you need to access databases from home, log in to pingry.org; then upon arrival to the "Pingry Today" landing page, look for the link to "Library."   Follow that link to the page seen above.  On the left hand side is a drop down menu of databases and their passwords, which you will need if you are working at home.  Then follow the green button "MS LIBGUIDE" to access the Libguide.  

 

C.B. Newton Catalog


Looking for books, videos...
Use "Anywhere" for keyword searching, OR
Use the Drop Down Menu to select "Title" or "Author" searching.

 

Citation Help


NoodleTools
Use Noodletools to create bibliographic citations as the first step in recording your documentation.  Then, use the notetaking feature to keep track of the information you find!

Pingry Manual of Style

 

Reference Databases


Facts on File Online

Use this Facts on File database to find info on both History and Literature.  

Encyclopedia Britannica
Britannica is a general reference encyclopedia with valuable information on many of the topics related to Arthur Miller's, The Crucible.  

U.S. History in Context 

This database provides in depth information on many related topics, including Blue Laws, Black List, Salem Witch Trials, Hollywood Ten, and much more.  


Gale Virtual Reference Library 


Link here for great historical connections to The Crucible, as well as other information on the paper topics.   

 

CQ Researcher

Contains the online journals CQ Research and CQ Global Researcher, excellent resources for current topics of social and political interest. 

                                                            

          

                                                           

Internet Resources

  • Salem Witch Trials Documentary Archive and Transcription Project
    This archive contains documents, maps, letters and other primary source material on the Salem Witch Trials.
  • "Television Responds to the Red Scare"
    This blog post from the Archive of American Television includes quotes from several prominent people involved in the Red Scare, including blacklisted writers, directors and witnesses.
  • The Blue Laws of Connecticut
    ConnecticutHistory.org is a dynamic website. created as a program of Connecticut Humanities in partnership with several universities. Read the article and then note that some of the books cited have live links; clink through and search within these books for even more info.
  • Slavery
    Information on the history, including the origins and foundation of slavery in the U.S.
  • The New York Times
    Great resource, both historical and current.
 

Arthur Miller

On why he wrote The Crucible:  "I am not sure what "The Crucible" is telling people now, but I know that its paranoid center is still pumping out the same darkly attractive warning that it did in the fifties."  http://go.galegroup.com

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip