The guide supports the study of Ireland for students preparing for a visit to Ireland during the spring break.
Last Updated: Jan 11, 2017
The Oxford Companion to Irish History, 2nd edition, offers this article on Gaeltacht, which refers to the areas of Ireland where the native language is spoken.
- TG Lurgan
Article from The Irish Examiner, detailing the work of Colaiste Lurgan, a summer school program for the teaching of the Irish language.
- Language & Literacy: Irish Language since 1922
An overview article on the issue of restoring the Irish language to the culture, this piece is from the Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture.
- Ireland (Countries and Their Cultures)
This article features an overview of the history of the Irish peoples and their culture. Influences from various occupations, ethnic relations, food, language, as well as other factors are discussed.
- Ireland (Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia in the Age of War and Reconstruction
Chronicles Irish history in the 20th century to about 2005.
- The Globalization of Irish Traditional Song Performance
This e-book is from Ebsco's Discovery service and reports on the impact of Irish traditional song in the world.
- Ireland (International Encyclopedia of Dance)
Article contains information on Traditional Dance and Theatrical Dance. In the same encyclopedia, search for specific dances like "jig," "step dance"...
- The Dubliners: The Story so Far
A brief overview of the accomplishments of the singing group, The Dubliners, whose recording in the 1960s and 70s brought Irish folk music to the world.
From Biography in Context, the page contains links to a variety of resources about the performer Hozier.
From Biography in Context, the page accesses resources from a variety of resources on the Irish group U2.
- Sing Street
For information on the film, see the entry at the Internet Movie Database (IMDb).
- The Young Dublineres
Article about the musical group The Young Dubliners from Biography in Context.
- Diaspora: The Irish in North America
Provides historical background information on the Irish immigration to America.
- Diaspora: The Irish in Australia
Provides historical information on Irish immigration to Australia.
- Diaspora: The Irish in Britain
Provides historical information on Irish immigration to Great Britain.
- Great Famine
Good historical overview of the Irish famine that resulted in the loss of life of over 1 million people and the emigration of perhaps another million plus to other parts of the world.
- Potato Famine
From the St. James Encyclopedia of Labor History Worldwide, the article examines the causes and effects of the potato famine in Ireland.
For information on Great Britain and World War I, see the Oxford History of the British Empire, Vol. IV, particularly Chap. 6, pp. 138 ff.
See also Blackwell's A Companion to World War I, edited by John Horne for information on the war in Africa and India.