This is the "Colonial America Writing Assignment" page of the "History 7" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History 7  

Last Updated: Oct 18, 2016 URL: http://libguides.pingry.org/content.php?pid=650686 Print Guide RSS Updates

Colonial America Writing Assignment Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Colonial Times

  

An Overseer Doing His Duty, Near Fredericksburg by Benjamin Henry Latrobe, 1796.
Maryland Historical Society

 

origiinal art by Joseph Badger (1750)

http://b-womeninamericanhistory18.blogspot.com/2011/02/hats-hats-hats-headwear-in-american.html

Painting of Lucy Terry Prince
by Louise Minks, accession #M.25,
Pocumtuck Valley Memorial Association, 
Deerfield MA.

Middle Colonies Farming

https://www.landofthebrave.info/new-jersey-colony.htm
                                                   

 

Library Catalog

Looking for books? Check the

C. B. NEWTON LIBRARY CATALOG 

 

Google



 

E-Books at the Library



EBSCOhost eBooks

   

 



Gale Virtual Reference Library
                                       

 

Need Passwords!

If you need to access databases from home, logon to Moodle where the username/password combinations may be found at the Library/Middle School link.

 

Citation Help


NoodleTools
Use Noodletools to create bibliographic citations as the first step in recording your documentation.  Then, use the notetaking feature to keep track of the information you find!

Pingry Manual of Style

 

R.A.F.T. Paper Research


ABC-CLIO
Choose the American History Database, and continue on to access "Exploration and Colonization, 1350-1760."  Then, from the left hand menu, choose "The English Colonies, 1605-1760."  From there, just scroll down for more info: "explore," "analyze," "research," "media," and more.  


GALE Smithsonian Primary Sources Choose "Browse by Era," focusing on "1620-1754, Colonial Society and the Road to Independence."

Oxford African American Studies Center this site is rich in content; a search for "Plantation Life 1700" yields slave narratives, as well as information on the Virginia and Maryland colonies, among other information.  



American National Biography Online
Search "colonial America" for  portraits of more than 100 men and women; be sure to check their biographical info for date of birth and date of death; this will ensure that the person you are reading about lived during the time frame which is the subject of your R.A.F.T. project.  

Facts on File
Search American History Online or African American History Online.  Start your search by searching "Colonial Era."  This should get you off to a good start!  Once you get to your search result, be sure to check the menu above for not only articles, but images.  


Gale Databases
Provides access to Gale databases.  Scroll down and find  "U.S. History in Context," for info that may be helpful for your R.A.F.T. project.  

Salem History
Be sure to check out Defining Documents in American History: Exploration & Colonial America (1492-1755).  This data base includes essays on plantation life by Eliza Lucas, life on Plymouth Plantation and other primary source.  Search "plantation life."


Internet Resources

  • Colonial Williamsburg
    This website features a lot of information about this era of history, as well as short biographies of people of the time.
  • America in Class
    This resource is great for digging deeper; there are many primary sources available. Click on the box entitled "Becoming American: The British American Colonies" and then choose from the tabs across the top, such as "Growth," "People." "Economies," "Ideas" and explore your area of interest.
  • African Slavery in Colonial British North America
    This site is part of the website of Thomas Jefferson's Monticello estate and includes information on Life on the Monticello Plantation, the Enslaved Families of Monticello, and the dependence of society on slavery.
  • National Woman's History Musuem
    Search within this site ("Colonial Period") to find information on the Colonial Period, including "Claiming Their Citizenship: African American Women from 1624-2009," and "Women in the New England Colonies."
  • Trades during Colonial Times
    This is part of the Colonial Williamsburg website, but the focus is on trade of the Colonial era.
 

Images of Colonial Times

Colonial illustration entitled "The New School-Mistress." Private schools taught by women, known as "dame schools," were common in larger townsduring colonial times.

"Dame Schools." American HistoryABC-CLIO, 2016, americanhistory.abc-clio.com/Search/Display/295114. Accessed 12 Oct. 2016.

Colonial Children's Games

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=11Q_J3XEG5Q

\

During the colonial era artisans such as blacksmiths, silversmiths, tailors, and cabinetmakers typically served as apprentices from approximately age 13 to age 21.

http://online.infobase.com/Auth/Index?aid=17334&itemid=WE52&iid=41098

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip