This is the "Biomes" page of the "Science 6" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science 6  

Last Updated: Nov 8, 2016 URL: http://libguides.pingry.org/content.php?pid=639234 Print Guide RSS Updates

Biomes Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Biomes



Source: Creative Commons

 

C.B. Newton Catalog


Looking for books, videos...
Use "Anywhere" for keyword searching, OR
Use the Drop Down Menu to select "Title" or "Author" searching.

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

 

Need Passwords!

If you need to access databases from home, logon to Moodle where the username/password combinations may be found at the Library/Upper School link.

 

Citation Help

Noodletools
Use Noodletools to create bibliographic citations as the first step in recording your documentation.  Then, use the notetaking feature to keep track of the information you find!

Pingry Manual of Style

 

Biomes: Reference Databases

Access Science
This database is the online version of the Mc Graw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.


Encyclopedia Britannica

Encyclopedia Britannica is a general reference source that also includes the Merriam Webster Dictionary.

 

Facts on File:  Science Online
Science Online is an excellent general science information resource.

Cavendish Square
Use Marshall Cavendish to access both Earth and Physical Sciences as well as Growing Up with Science.

Salem Science
Salem Science provides access to eight science reference sets on a broad range of topics.




World Book 
Use World Book to find general information on Biomes, especially the Living Green section.

Biomes: Internet Resources

  • Biomes of the World
    Produced by the Missouri Botanical Garden, this colorful site has extensive information and pictures for six world biomes: rainforest, tundra, taiga, desert, temperate, and grasslands.
  • Blue Planet Biomes
    Blue Planet Biomes has information on ten world biomes: tundra, taiga, grasslands, deciduous forest, chaparral, desert, desert-scrub, savanna, rainforest, and alpine.
  • The World's Biomes
    "Key facts on aquatic, desert, forest, grassland, and tundra biomes. Includes information on the importance of biome conservation and preservation. From the Museum of Paleontology, University of California, Berkeley." (ipl2.org)
  • Mission: Biomes
    From NASA, Mission Biomes helps students navigate biomes of the world through interactive gaming. Includes good information, graphs and maps.
 

Books on Biomes

              


    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip