This is the "Roman Food" page of the "Latin 1A " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Latin 1A  

Find resources for the Gladiator project and the Ancient Tourism project here!
Last Updated: Oct 31, 2016 URL: http://libguides.pingry.org/content.php?pid=631293 Print Guide RSS Updates

Roman Food Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Roman Food

Roman floor mosaic
showing birds, fish & fruit.
            -Source: Creative Commons

 

Library Catalog

Looking for books? Check the

C. B. NEWTON LIBRARY CATALOG 

 

Google



 

E-Books at the Library



EBSCOhost eBooks

   

 



Gale Virtual Reference Library
                                       

 

Need Passwords!

If you need to access databases from home, logon to Moodle where the username/password combinations may be found at the Library/Middle School link.

 

Citation Help


NoodleTools
Use Noodletools to create bibliographic citations as the first step in recording your documentation.  Then, use the notetaking feature to keep track of the information you find!

Pingry Manual of Style

 

Roman Food: Reference Databases

Facts on File- Ancient and Medieval History

Encyclopedia Britannica
Britannica is a general reference encyclopedia, with informative links to sites related to Romain life and entertainment. 



Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is an e-book database of encyclopedias and specialized reference source. 

World Book Advanced
The entire 22 volume set with 3,700 additional entries not available in print.  Additional resources that include an e-book collection of classic books and links to other World Books sites.



World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras
Use this ABC-CLIO database to access extensive information about life in the Roman Empire.

World History in Context
Gale World History in Context is an excellent source about Roman life, accessed from authoritative reference and academic sources.

Roman Food: Internet Resources

  • Antique Roman Dishes - Collection
    "An index of recipes for making Roman meals, the site also describes traditional ingredients and gives measurements in both the standard and metric systems." Source:edtechteacher
  • Ancient Roman Recipes
    Produced by NOVA, this site contains ancient as well as modern day versions of recipes from Ancient Rome.
  • BBC - What did Romans Eat?
    This BBC site explains the diet of the rich and poor in ancient Rome, as well as fun facts about unusual foods that were consumed.
  • The Roman Empire in the First Century
    Provided by PBS, this website describes home life in ancient Rome, with specifics about the dinner parties of the rich and the average diet of the poor.
 

Roman Food: Featured Print Sources

              Cooking in Ancient Civilizations by Cathy K. Kaufman

 

            Everyday Life in the Roman Empire by Kathryn Hinds

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip