This is the "Using our Earth's Resources" page of the "Science 8" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science 8  

Last Updated: Feb 7, 2017 URL: http://libguides.pingry.org/content.php?pid=629994 Print Guide RSS Updates

Using our Earth's Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Using Earth's Resources

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

 

Need Passwords?

If you need to access databases from home, log in to pingry.org; then upon arrival to the "Pingry Today" landing page, look for the link to "Library."   Follow that link to the page seen above.  On the left hand side is a drop down menu of databases and their passwords, which you will need if you are working at home.  Then follow the green button "MS LIBGUIDE" to access the Libguide.  

 

C.B. Newton Catalog


Looking for books, videos...
Use "Anywhere" for keyword searching, OR
Use the Drop Down Menu to select "Title" or "Author" searching.

 

Citation Help


Noodletools
Use Noodletools to create bibliographic citations as the first step in recording your documentation.  Then, use the notetaking feature to keep track of the information you find!

Pingry Manual of Style

 

Earth's Resources: Reference Databases

Access Science
This database is the online version of the Mc Graw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.


Encyclopedia Britannica
Encyclopedia Britannica is a general reference source that also includes the Merriam Webster Dictionary.

 

Facts on File: Today's Science
Today's Science contains current science news relevent to student research.

Gale: Science in Context
Use Science in Context to locate reference articles, newspaper and magazine articles, and multi-media resources.

Marshall Cavendish Digital
Marshall Cavendish is an excellent resource for science research informationBe sure to check out the earth and physical sciences section for helpful info for this project.  

Salem Science
Salem Science provides access to eight science reference sets on a broad range of topics.




World Book 
Use World Book to find general information on science topics.


Earth's Resources: Internet Resources

  • How Products Are Made
    Recommended by Mrs. Lowery, this is a good site to help choose an object for the project. Topics/items are listed alphabetically.
  • How Everyday Things are Made
    "If you've ever wondered how things are made - products like candy, cars, airplanes, or bottles - or if you've been interested in manufacturing processes, like forging, casting, or injection molding, then you've come to the right place." Source: manufacturing.stanford.edu
  • How It's Made
    Visit this Science Channel site to see short videos on how everyday things, like rubber gloves and paper towels, are made. Source: sciencechannel.com
  • Reduce, Reuse, Recycle
    "Learn how reducing, reusing, and recycling can help you, your community, and the environment by saving money, energy, and natural resources." Source: epa.gov
 

Featured Print Sources

             See How It's Made by Penny Smith 

 

           How Stuff Works by Marshall Brain

 

        Your Water Footprint by Stephen Leahy

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip