This is the "Research Skills" page of the "Research Skills" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Skills  

Last Updated: Aug 11, 2015 URL: http://libguides.pingry.org/content.php?pid=627954 Print Guide RSS Updates
Research Skills Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Skills

 

Library Catalog

Looking for books!

Check the

C. B. NEWTON LIBRARY CATALOG

Google



 

E-Books at the Library



EBSCOHost eBooks

   

 



Gale Virtual Reference Library
                                       

 

Need Passwords!

If you need to access databases from home, logon to Moodle where the username/password combinations may be found at the Library/Upper School link.

 

Citation Help


Noodletools
Use Noodletools to create bibliographic citations as the first step in recording your documentation.  Then, use the notetaking feature to keep track of the information you find!

Pingry Manual of Style

 

Research Skills: Reference Databases

American National Biography
American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation.

EBSCOHost
EBSCOHost contains a total of 24 databases, featuring periodical articles from more than 2,000 publications, reference books, eBooks, and images.

Encyclopedia Britannica
Encyclopedia Britannica offers excellent articles for background information on all topics.  Added content includes video clips, Merriam Webster Dictionary, World Atlas and other features.

Facts on File
Facts on File provides general overviews on history, science, as well as women’s and multicultural studies.

Facts on File: Today's Science
Today's Science contains current science news relevent to student research.

Gale Resources
Provides access to Gale databases, including Gale Virtual Reference Library, U. S. History in Context, World History in Context, Science in Context, and Biography in Context.

Marshall Cavendish Digital
Marshall Cavendish is an excellent resource for information across many subject areas, including history, geography, health, and science.

Pop Culture Universe
Pop Culture Universe is an authoritative digital database on popular culture in America in the 20th and 21st centuries.



ProQuest
ProQuest provide full-text and abstracts for periodical and newspaper articles, especially useful for The New York Times. Proquest Historical Newspapers includes the complete archive of The New York Times back to 1851.

Salem History
Salem History provides access to 14 reference sets, including Inventors and Inventions and Salem’s Decades series for the 1920s to the 2000s.




World Book 
In addition to articles for beginning research, World Book includes a World Atlas, the Dictionary, a comprehensive eBook collection, and sources on the environment and discoveries.

Research Skills: Internet Resources

  • The Great Idea Finder
    The Great Idea Finder is an excellent source for invention information, especially invention facts and myths, invention timelines, and biographies of inventors.
  • Internet Public Library
    Internet Public Library is a valuable source for authoritative websites on a wide range of topics.
  • The Lemelson Center
    Published by the Smithsonian Museum, this website has information about historical as well as modern inventors and inventions.
  • Lemelson - MIT Inventor Archive
    Sponsored by Lemelson - MIT, this site has selected inventor information from their archives.
  • Making the Modern World: Icons of Inventions
    Created by the Museum of Science and Industry, this site has information about famous inventors as well as an interactive timeline for the years 1750 to 2000.
  • Re-Living the Wright Way
    Sponsored by NASA, this website has extensive historical information about the Wright Brothers as well as simulations and activities related to their work.
  • Technology in America
    This PBS American Experience production provides information on the film "The Telephone," as well as special sections like "Forgotten Inventors" and "Technology Timeline," an interactive timeline for the years 1750 to 1990.
  • They Made America
    Sponsored by PBS, this website provides background on 64 Americans who helped develop our country from 1790 to 1995. It includes biographical information, geographical locations, and a timeline.
  • Time Magazine Best Inventions
    The Time Magazine website provides online access to their best invention lists and articles for the years 2001 to 2009.
  • Zoom Inventors and Inventions
    Zoom is a good starting point for basic inventor and invention information on a wide variety of topics. It also includes special sections on women, African-American, and international inventors.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip