Last Updated: Nov 6, 2015
If you need to access databases from home, logon to Moodle where the username/password combinations may be found at the Library/Upper School link.
- ABC CLIO History
Accesses reference materials from ABC CLIO print encyclopedias specific to topics in history. For this assignment, American History and American Government should be most useful.
- ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection
E-book resource especially strong for topics in history.
- Annals of American History
Annals of American History, from Encyclopedia Britannica, contains primary source materials from all periods of the American historical journey.
- Cambridge Economic History of the United States, 1790-1914
Volume 2: The Long Nineteenth Century; Chapter 9: Technology and Industrialization is very helpful for the industrial revolution question.
- Cambridge History of American Foreign Policy
This reference work is especially helpful for information on early international affairs of the United States.
- Ebscohost: Academic Search Premier
A good resource for peer reviewed journal articles in all subjects. Be sure to select "Academic Search Premier" from the main menu.
- New Cambridge History of American Foreign Relations
From Cambridge Histories Online, this text offers great detail on the period under study.
For peer reviewed journal articles, JStor has deep archives of many titles.
- Oxford Reference
Excellent beginning source for encyclopedia type information across many subjects!
A very good resource for peer reviewed journal articles. Remember to check the box "Peer Reviewed" under the search box.
- Project Muse
Similar to JStor, Project Muse contains archives of peer reviewed journals.
- Salem History
Salem History accesses many primary documents in history and provides contextual analysis of these documents, providing deeper understanding of the document and its effects it has had in history.
- Sharpe Reference Online
Offers encyclopedia treatment of many topics in American and World History.
Use the digital library Questia School to supplement the library's book collections.