This is the "Reference Resources" page of the "Science in the 21st Century" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science in the 21st Century  

Last Updated: Oct 14, 2015 URL: http://libguides.pingry.org/content.php?pid=393341 Print Guide RSS Updates

Reference Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

C.B. Newton Catalog

Looking for books, videos...

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

x

Reserve Books

Google Scholar



 

Science Reference Databases

Access Science
This database is the online version of the Mc Graw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.

Science in Context
Use Science in Context to locate reference articles, newspaper and magazine articles, multi-media resources.

Facts on File:  Science Online
Science Online is an excellent general science information resource.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Wiley Online Science offers this life science resource, containing academic level reference articles and access to some journal articles.

Today's Science
"Today's Science explains important developments in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology. Students are provided with information in context, clearly explained and abundantly illustrated..."

Research Skills: Internet Resources

  • The Great Idea Finder
    The Great Idea Finder is an excellent source for invention information, especially invention facts and myths, invention timelines, and biographies of inventors.
  • The Lemelson Center
    Published by the Smithsonian Museum, this website has information about historical as well as modern inventors and inventions.
  • Lemelson - MIT Inventor Archive
    Sponsored by Lemelson - MIT, this site has selected inventor information from their archives.
  • Making the Modern World: Icons of Inventions
    Created by the Museum of Science and Industry, this site has information about famous inventors as well as an interactive timeline for the years 1750 to 2000.
  • Re-Living the Wright Way
    Sponsored by NASA, this website has extensive historical information about the Wright Brothers as well as simulations and activities related to their work.
  • Technology in America
    This PBS American Experience production provides information on the film "The Telephone," as well as special sections like "Forgotten Inventors" and "Technology Timeline," an interactive timeline for the years 1750 to 1990.
  • They Made America
    Sponsored by PBS, this website provides background on 64 Americans who helped develop our country from 1790 to 1995. It includes biographical information, geographical locations, and a timeline.
  • Time Magazine Best Inventions
    The Time Magazine website provides online access to their best invention lists and articles for the years 2001 to 2009.
  • Zoom Inventors and Inventions
    Zoom is a good starting point for basic inventor and invention information on a wide variety of topics. It also includes special sections on women, African-American, and international inventors.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip