Classical LanguagesLiterature ResearchPeriodical Research
Databases A to ZBasic Reference
Criticism in Periodicals
U. S. HistoryWorld History Resources
Science Journal ResearchGenetic DiseaseCancer ResearchBioethics
For StudentsFair Use for TeachersTutorialsResourcesAdvocacyTrends In Copyright
Science Journal Research
This is the "Basic Reference" page of the "Charles Bertram Newton Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Charles Bertram Newton Library   Tags: dictionary, e-books, encyclopedias, reference  

Welcome to the Library!
Last Updated: May 10, 2017 URL: http://libguides.pingry.org/content.php?pid=143706 Print Guide RSS Updates

Basic Reference Print Page
  Search: 
 

Google Scholar



Google



 

Encyclopedias

              Image result for britannica online logo       Encyclopedia Britannica 

Excellent articles for background information on all topics.  Added content includes video clips, Merriam Webster Dictionary, World Atlas and other features.                                            

 Wikipedia

A project of the Wikipedia Foundation, this encyclopedia is compiled by unpaid volunteers who create/edit article entries.   Anyone may participate in the project.  Principles guiding writers may be found at Wikipedia's Five Pillars page.  Students are cautioned that content may have questionable authority.

Image result for world book logo

 World Book

In addition to fine articles for beginning research, World Book includes a World Atlas, the Dictionary, a comprehensive E-book Collection, and modules on the environment and discoveries.

 

Dictionaries

http://fdslive.oup.com/www.oup.com/academic/images/onlineproducts/OED2_web.jpg



Oxford English Dictionary

The premier source for English words, their meanings, and history.

 

Image result for oxford dictionaries

Oxford Dictionaries

Portal to Oxford dictionaries in most spoken languages of the world.  Select the language you wish to use at this page.
Audio file pronunciation available at the site.

Merriam-Webster Logo

Merriam Webster Dictionary

English language dictionary, the descendant of Noah Webster's American Dictionary of the English Language.  The site also contains an excellent thesaurus to use when looking for synonyms and antonyms of words.

 

Maps & Atlases

In addition to the maps available in Encyclopedia Britannica and World Book, check out the resources at Maps 101.

          Maps                Maps 101 
A resource equally valuable for students and teachers, Maps 101 is an interactive database with historical maps, current event maps, lesson plans, and video resources.                  
   FOFCurr Facts on File:  Curriculum Resource Center
This database provides maps, science diagrams, timelines, fact sheets, images and more--all suitable for classroom hand-outs.
 

Google Books

 

Need Passwords

Logon to Moodle, choose Library/Upper School, to locate the hand-out for username/password access to our databases.  You will need this information for off-campus use of the databases.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip