Classical LanguagesLiterature ResearchPeriodical Research
Databases A to ZBasic Reference
Criticism in Periodicals
U. S. HistoryWorld History Resources
Science Journal ResearchGenetic DiseaseCancer ResearchBioethics
For StudentsFair Use for TeachersTutorialsResourcesAdvocacyTrends In Copyright
Science Journal Research
This is the "Databases A to Z" page of the "Charles Bertram Newton Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Charles Bertram Newton Library   Tags: dictionary, e-books, encyclopedias, reference  

Welcome to the Library!
Last Updated: May 10, 2017 URL: http://libguides.pingry.org/content.php?pid=143706 Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases A to Z Print Page
  Search: 
 

A to Z Subscription Databases

ABC-CLIO History
Access historical information in American and World History, Popular Culture, and Military History.

Access Science 
Online version of the McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, a great beginning point when researching scientific and technological subjects.

ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of approximately 4,000 books of high quality in the humanities.

African American Studies Center
Provides an authoritative and comprehensive source on the African American experience, comprised of five major encyclopedias from Oxford UniversityPress. 

Aluka
Aluka provides access to scholarly resources from and about Africa. Content explores the complexity of African political struggles as well as rich content on the culture and heritage of the African peoples.  (African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes; and Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa).

American Government 
American Government provides a complete, multifaceted examination of the foundations of the government and political system of the United States.

American History
From the explorers of the Americas to the issues of today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.

American National Biography 
Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation.

Annals of American History
Primary source material for the study of American History from colonial times to the present.

Artemis
Use Artemis to search Literature Collections Online and other literary reference titles from Gale.

ArtStor 
Digital library of more than one million art images in art, architecture, humanities and social sciences.

Biography in Context
With more than 600,000 biographical entries, integrated with reference material, periodical information and multimedia content, this resource is updated daily with current information from The New York Times, United Press International, and the National Review.

Cambridge Core
This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content of Cambridge Histories Online, an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike.  (Be sure to check the box to search only the content we own). 

Cavendish Square
A resource offered for Middle School students to access research information across many subject areas including history, geography, health, and science.

Columbia International Affairs (CIAO) 
Publishes international affairs information from 1991 onward, including working papers from research institutes, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.

Country Watch 
Provides geopolitical intelligence on the 192 nations of the world.

CQ Researcher
Contains the online journals CQ Research and CQ Global Researcher, excellent resources for current topics of social and political interest.

Dictionary of National Biography 
Explore the lives of over 55,000 people worldwide who have shaped the British past over the last 2,400 years.

EBSCOHost 
A total of 24 databases, featuring periodical articles from more than 2000 publications, reference books and images. Academic Search Premier contains peer reviewed articles from more than 3900 journals. Additional databases target specific content matter.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online 
Online database of the general reference encyclopedia, including the Merriam Webster Dictionary. Annals of American History and Spanish Reference Center are also provided.

Facts-on-File 
Provides general overviews on history, science, as well as women’s and multicultural studies.

Gale Databases
Provides access to Gale databases, including Gale Virtual Reference Library, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, Literature Resource Center, U. S. History in Context, World History in Context, Science in Context, Biography in Context, Global Issues in Context.  Databases may be search individually or cross-searched with the new Power Search.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is an e-book database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Global Issues in Context
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of these issues

Granger's World of Poetry
Full-text poems, poem citations, biographies of poets, scholarly commentary, and an extensive glossary of terms and definitions, plus Poetry Partners links to outstanding Web sites such as the Poetry Project, Granger's is the poetry resource best suited to all types of libraries.

Historic Documents
Historic Documents, a series from CQ Press, annually publishes significant primary source materials relating to United States' government and politics.  Good source for Presidential speeches, executive orders, Congressional reports, and similar resources on issues of political import in the nation.

Islamic Studies Online 
Includes articles by renowed scholars, for the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World (2008), The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Islamic World: Past and Present, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, two translations of the Qur'an, and primary source documents.

JStor 
Comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature in the arts and sciences.

Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, supplemented by the 600 book-length studies of Twayne's World, United States, anOd English Authors Series.

Maps 101
Comprehensive cross-curricular resource for historical maps, outline maps, videos and animations. 

Nature
Online access to Nature Complete, publishing current research, news, editorials, and trends in scientific disciplines from Nature Publishing Group journals.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Up-to-date information on social and political topics from the Opposing Viewpoints series with additional content from NBC Nightly News (video), The New York Times, Newsweek, and USA Today.

Oxford Art Online 
Online encyclopedia of art through the ages, complementing the 34 volume print volume, also available in the library.

Oxford Dictionaries
English, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish language dictionaries are accessible at the Oxford Dictionaries site.

Oxford English Dictionary Online
Revised edition of the 23 volume OED, a unique source of scholarly information on the meaning, history and pronunciation of words both past and present.

Oxford Music Online
An integrated music resource on the web, including The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.

Oxford Reference Online (Premium Collection) 
Digital library offering general reference information across the full subject spectrum - from language and quotations to science and medicine, from humanities and social sciences to business and professional, bilingual dictionaries.

Pop Culture Universe:  Icons, Idols, Ideas
Pop Culture Universe is an authoritative digital database on popular culture in America in the 20th and 21st centuries.

Project Muse
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing 100% full-text...and user-friendly online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.  

Proquest 
Full-text and abstracts for periodical and newspaper articles, especially useful for The New York Times. Proquest Historical Newspapers includes the complete archive of The New York Times back to 1851.

Questia
Questia School is the premier online library and research tool for high school students. Its collection of thousands of digital titles and productivity tools supports cross-curricular studies in standard and advanced high school-level courses.

Salem Health
Magill’s Medical Guide is an up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information suitable for student research as well as for use by general readers, including patients and caregivers.

Salem History
Provides online access to Milestone Documents in American History, a primary source resource; Great Events from History; Inventors and Inventions; and Salem’s Decades series for the 1940s to the 1990s.

Salem Literature 
Provides access to the print editions of Critical Insights that provides literary criticism and biographical information on frequently studied authors.

Salem Science
Provides online access to Global Resources , Global Warming, and The Solar System.  

Science
Access to the journal Science, a publication of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. 

Science Direct
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.

Science in Context
Science in Context merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized.

 Scientific American
Online access to Scientific American, an outstanding journal that provides readers with insights into developments and trends in science and technology.

Smithsonian: Primary Sources in U.S. History
This resource includes unique primary sources, including documents, maps, historical objects, and other materials from the museums and archives of the Smithsonian browsable by historical era and fully searchable as well.

Spanish Reference Center
This site offers resources in Spanish: Enciclopedia Universal en Español for high school ages and up and Enciclopedia Juvenil for ages 6-12.

Teen Health and Wellness
Provides middle school and high school students with nonjudgmental
, straightforward, standards-aligned, curricular and self-help support. Topics include diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide, bullying, green living, financial literacy, digital literacy, and more.

U. S. History in Context
Contains information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in United States History from Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

World at War
Recently revised and expanded, this database is an invaluable resource that presents comprehensive information and unique insights into the military conflicts that have defined our world's identity from its beginning to today.

World Book Online 
The entire 22 volume set with 3,700 additional entries not available in print.  Additional resources that include an e-book collection of classic books and links to other World Books sites, including Living Green, Early Peoples and Inventions and Discoveries.

World History:  Ancient and Medieval Eras
World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras covers early human history around the globe—from prehistoric times to the beginnings of the Renaissance.

World History:  The Modern Era
World History: The Modern Era (covering history from the Renaissance to today) is the latest update of the reference standard of electronic history reference materials for high school and high-level middle school coursework.

World History in Context
Contains information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History from Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

 

  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip