Classical LanguagesLiterature ResearchPeriodical Research
Databases A to ZBasic Reference
Criticism in Periodicals
U. S. HistoryWorld History Resources
Science Journal ResearchGenetic DiseaseCancer ResearchBioethics
For StudentsFair Use for TeachersTutorialsResourcesAdvocacyTrends In Copyright
Science Journal Research
This is the "Art/Art History" page of the "Charles Bertram Newton Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Charles Bertram Newton Library   Tags: dictionary, e-books, encyclopedias, reference  

Welcome to the Library!
Last Updated: May 10, 2017 URL: http://libguides.pingry.org/content.php?pid=143706 Print Guide RSS Updates

Art/Art History Print Page
  Search: 
 

Art History in Reference Databases

ArtStor

   ArtStor

   A database of high resolution art images from
   museums and collections around the world.

 

OxfordArt

 
   Oxford Art Online

   Online access to the Grove Dictionary of Art and
   the Oxford art reference resources.

Major Art Museums

  • Guggenheim Museum (New York)
    "Founded on a collection of early modern masterpieces, the Guggenheim Museum today is an ever-evolving institution devoted to the art of the 20th century and beyond." (From the museum website).
  • Louvre (Paris)
    Mission from the Louvre website: "Formerly a royal palace, the Louvre has embraced the history of France for eight centuries. Intended as a universal museum since its inception in 1793, its collections—among the finest in the world—span several thousands of years and a territory that extends from America to the confines of Asia."
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (NewYork)
 

Art History in Video

ArtWest       
       Art of the Western World
       N5300 A685 2005                        

          civilisation              

         Civilisation (Kenneth Clark)
         CB411.64 1998                      

  HowArt                     

         How Art Made the World
         N5300 H69 2006         

  Shama                      

         Simon Shama's Power of Art
         N5300 .S56 2007                        

    Wendy                 
           Sister Wendy:  The Complete Collection
           ND50 S5794 2002

 

Print Resources

Cover Art
History of Art - Anthony F. Janson
Call Number: N5300 J3 1997
ISBN: 9780138492410
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
Janson is a classic survey of the history of art, a standard text in many college level art history coursess.

Cover Art
Gardner's Art Through the Ages - Fred S. Kleiner; Christin J. Mamiya; Helen Gardner
Call Number: N5300 JG25 2005
ISBN: 9780155050907
Publication Date: 2004-03-17
Like Janson, Helen Gardner's Art Through the Ages is a standard college level text, a comprehensive survey of the field in its 12th edition.

Cover Art
The Story of Art - E. H. Gombrich; Leonie Gombrich
Call Number: N5300.G6 1951
ISBN: 9780714832470
Publication Date: 1995-09-09
Excellent text republished in 2006 by Phaidon, Gombrich's work set the standard for subsequent survey histories of art.

The Dictionary of Art - Jane Turner (Editor)
Call Number: REF N31.D5 1996
ISBN: 1884446000
Publication Date: 2003-02-11
Groundbreaking work of scholarship, the Grove Dictionary of Art is a 34 volume work offering students and scholars deep understandings of art, artists, historical art periods, style and much more. All 34 volumes are included in the database Oxford Art Online.

 

Art History on the Internet

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip