Classical LanguagesLiterature ResearchPeriodical Research
Databases A to ZBasic Reference
Criticism in Periodicals
U. S. HistoryWorld History Resources
Science Journal ResearchGenetic DiseaseCancer ResearchBioethics
For StudentsFair Use for TeachersTutorialsResourcesAdvocacyTrends In Copyright
Science Journal Research
This is the "World Languages" page of the "Charles Bertram Newton Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Charles Bertram Newton Library   Tags: dictionary, e-books, encyclopedias, reference  

Welcome to the Library!
Last Updated: May 10, 2017 URL: http://libguides.pingry.org/content.php?pid=143706 Print Guide RSS Updates

World Languages Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

 

Literature Resource Center

 

Google Books



 

Need Passwords!

To access databases from home, go to the Library page in Pingry Today where passwords are posted with the A to Z listing.  Passwords will remain available at the Library Moodle site.

 

Citation Help

Noodletools
Use Noodletools to create bibliographic citations as the first step in recording your documentation.  Then, use the notetaking feature to keep track of the information you find!

Pingry Manual of Style

 

For Teachers

Reserve the Library!
To schedule a class, contact

Eileen Hymas 

Please provide information on your project and your technology requirements.

 

World Language Dictionaries

Image result for oxford dictionaries Oxford Dictionaries            
The innovative Oxford Dictionaries site offers essential language resources never before available online: fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages.
Chinese      French      German     Spanish
 

Reference Databases

World History in Context
For information on the history and culture of all nations, use this highly acclaimed resource.
Country Watch
Up to day information on events happening in all nations of the world.  Very good for political, economic, environmental, and statistical information.
Global Issues in Contex
t
For current events on global issues, this resources accesses news content from premiere news agencies around the world.
 

Geographic Resources

Maps 101
A comprehensive resource for geographical and historical maps, National Geographic videos,
interactive maps, and much more. 
Library of Congress:  Country Studies
The Library of Congress' Research Division publishes area handbooks for many countries of the world.  They are very useful for background information.
 

Encyclopedias

                              Britannica        Encyclopedia Britannica 
Excellent articles for background information on all topics.  Added content includes video clips, Merriam Webster Dictionary, World Atlas and other features.                                            
World Book



World Book
In addition to fine articles for beginning research, World Book includes a World Atlas, the Dictionary, a comprehensive E-book Collection, and modules on the environment and discoveries.

 

Literary Criticism

Salem Literature 
Provides access to the print editions of Critical Insights that provides literary criticism and biographical information on frequently studied authors.

Facts-on-file 
Generally useful for encyclopedic treatment of many topics, the database contains Bloom's Literary Reference Online accessing criticism on the major authors of the world compiled by the editor Harold Bloom and published in print by Chelsea House.

Art and Music in Reference Databases

ArtStor

ArtStor
A database of high resolution art images from museums and collections around the world.

     

Oxford Music Online
Online access to the Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians as well as other music reference sources from Oxford University Press.   

OxfordArt


Oxford Art Online

Online access to the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Oxford art reference resources.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip